WATCH: Out or Six ? What’s your call ?

January 1, 2023 at 7:47 PM

Michael Neser completed a juggling effort on the boundary to dismiss Jordan Silk at a crucial point of a high-scoring affair at the Gabba.


Again, the key parts here are that Neser first made contact with the ball while within the boundary and was never grounded over the rope while touching the ball.

Law 19.5.2 states: “A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary.”

Therefore – and this is the really important bit for those who argue you could simply set fielders behind the boundary – as long as the fielder’s first touch of the ball is within the rope, they are free to complete the grab however they like, so long as they aren’t grounded with the ball over the boundary.

Read more