Changes in SL ODI squad – Two uncapped players added.

May 6, 2021 at 12:17 PM
Binura Fernando and Shiran Fernando

Two uncapped fast bowlers Shiran Fernando and Binura Fernando were named in the Sri Lanka 18-member ODI Squad for the tour of Bangladesh. Sri Lanka are scheduled to play three ODI’s in Dhaka from May 23.

The team will most likely be captained by Kusal Janith Perera, an official close to the Sri Lanka Team told the Daily News yesterday.

It is also understood that Kusal Mendis is tipped to be named as the Vice-Captain of the team. As per the official, selectors want to give him the confidence by naming him as the Vice-Captain.

28-year old Shiran Fernando, is a member of the Tamil Union Cricket Club. The right-arm medium pacer was recently tested positive for COVID-19 and is now being quarantined in a hotel in Colombo and is expected to be released on May 8. Sri Lanka team is set to depart to Bangladesh on the 16th of May.

Young talents Dhananjaya Lakshan, Janith Liyanage and Kamil Mishara are also in line to join the squad.

“The selectors want to give opportunities to the young players, so it’s likely that several senior players will get dropped from the side.”

“Our aim is to set up shadow players for the national team and especially to focus on the 2023 World Cup,” the source added further.

The probable squad: Kusal Janith Perera (Captain), Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ashen Bandara, Wanidu Hasaranga, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Oshada Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Ramesh Mendis and Akila Dhananjaya.